Pro Tip: Think of the second book as just ‘setting the scene’


Pro Tip: Think of the second book as just ‘setting the scene’

The Gone series consists of six books: Gone, Hunger, Lies, Plague, Fear, Light. Written by Michael Grant, the series focuses on a series of different children all under the age of fifteen, and their experiences in the ‘FAYZ’ (‘Fallout Alley Youth Zone’). The series follows the struggles the children face after one day everyone over the age of fifteen disappears from town. One second they were there and the next… Poof. Gone. However, it gets weirder from there when particular people start to develop powers, some more dangerous than others…

Grant has also begun a ‘second series’ of Gone. Monster was released on October 17 2017 (it is set four years after Light) and the two next books, Villain and Hero, are still in the process of being written. So, without further ado, here are 12 reasons why you should read the Gone series!

  1. The series’ genres are horror, supernatural, science fiction, dystopia and thriller1.jpg
  2. Themes in the series include heroism and atrocity. Other themes include chaos, war, leadership, the nature of humans and morality3.jpg
  3. There is discussion of a movie for the series3.png
  4. Grant does not hold back at showing his readers the feral nature of humans when faced with a world without order4.jpg
  5. The FAYZ is a society without order – making for some interesting events to occur5.png
  6. Grant has written the book with the goal to make sure the kids in the story react as how kids would really respond. He didn’t want any of them to be personifications of specific political ideals6.jpg
  7. One of the interesting things about the main character, Sam Temple, is that one of the his major traits Grant focuses on is not only his bravery, leadership, strength and kindness – it’s his fear7.png
  8. Grant has said that his motto when writing more gruesome scenes is, “If it’s horror, I think it’ll cause a couple of nightmares. If I fail, I haven’t done my job very well”8.jpeg
  9. The series explores the idea that one can’t know what kind of person they really are until the world collapses around them9.jpg
  10. There are many conflicts in the story including internal, interpersonal and external battles10.jpg
  11. Grant didn’t plan the entire story line. He had an end point and knew how he wanted everything to end up but didn’t want his job to be typing – he wanted his job to be to find out what happens to the kids in the story11.jpg
  12. He also took this approach to writing the novels because he felt that if he knew everything that would happen ahead of time, the more the rules of the genre that comes in, and the more readers can analyse what’s happening. He instead wanted each day he wrote to surprise him, so then the readers would also be surprised12.jpg



  1. I really loved these books and the way they had a timer to the big event to the end of the book. It was cool seeing leaders rise and the characters trying to rebuild society and get out of the mess they’re in.I don’t really remember them massively but they were pretty great. I read all of them except light (because it wasn’t released yet) in a short time period before finishing the series with everyone else. Great post, theirs a lot of things to talk about relating to this topic!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s